Top 5 Lists, Hollywood Edition

On my old website I always had Top 5 lists. Because that’s how I classify the world ever since “High Fidelity” by Nick Hornby. Top 3 lists are too short and Top 10 lists are too rambling. So I guess I’ll randomly intersperse this blog with Top 5 lists. Because it’s fun.

Within the Top 5 lists, the order is random. Oh, and of course they are subject to change. Apart from Joss and Neil. Joss and Neil will never lose their #1 positions.

Top 5 TV Shows

  1. Dr Who / Torchwood
  2. Buffy
  3. Firefly
  4. Supernatural
  5. MASH

Top 5 TV OTPs

  1. Willow / Tara (Buffy)
  2. Castle / Beckett (Castle)
  3. Wash / Zoe (Firefly)
  4. Dean / Castiel (SPN)
  5. Captain Jack Harkness / Ianto Jones (Torchwood)

(and I just noticed that none of these couples is currently together and happy – Tara is dead, Castle is possibly dead (but only in a cliffhangery way), Wash is dead, Dean and Castiel make me incredibly sad for never actually being together, and Ianto is dead, too. And I didn’t even include the Russian Jaeger pilots from Pacific Rim. And I cried for them, too. I seem to be a sucker for pain.)

Top 5 book authors

  1. Neil Gaiman (Sandman, American Gods, Neverwhere, Ocean at the End of the Lane)
  2. Virginia Woolf (The Lighthouse, Mrs Dalloway, A Room of one’s own)
  3. Kelly Sue DeConnick (Captain Marvel, Pretty Deadly)
  4. Matt Fraction (Invincible Ironman, Hawkeye)
  5. Jeffrey Eugenides (Virgin Suicides, Middlesex)

(and this list is about two dozen authors too short.)

Top 5 TV/movie authors

  1. Joss Whedon (Avengers, Buffy, Firefly)
  2. Russell T Davies (Dr Who, Torchwood)
  3. Neil Gaiman (Dr Who)
  4. Alan Alda (MASH)
  5. Felicia Day (The Guild)

Top 5 actors/actresses

  1. David Tennant (the looks)
  2. Viggo Mortenson (the art)
  3. Misha Collins (GISHWHES!)
  4. Jennifer Lawrence (the cuteness)
  5. Judi Dench (everything)

(should I have made this two lists? Maybe next time.)

Top 5 Geeks

  1. Wil Wheaton (play more games!)
  2. Felicia Day (there’s a warlock on my couch)
  3. Nathan Fillion (let me show you my bucket list)
  4. My hubby (see photo of anniversary presents)
  5. Everyone on my Tumblr (no comment)

(Yeah, I know, I cheated on the Hollywood thing there. But hey, real life people are kinda important, too. And every time I get asked the question “which five people dead or alive would you have dinner with if you could” I name my hubby first – cause who the f* am I going to talk about that dinner with if my hubby wasn’t there???)

emmarios1 6weddinganniversaryAren’t those the best anniversary present ever? (Numbered and signed Pretty Deadly print, Capt Marvel / Hawkeye jewellery)

Leave a Reply

